Something happened over time, though I discovered it all in one day… I realized I had lost my softness, yet didn’t quite gain the hard edge that might protect me…. I just sort of dissolved. It’s as though pieces of myself just fell away, into nothingness, like drops of rain from a cloud… a little at a time, drip, drop, until all that was left was the image of who I once was. Interactive, yet hollow. Conscious yet impossible to hold on to.
And there was no room for resentment or blame. The transformation was complete and there was no going back.
And I wondered if this was what I’d accidentally wished for?
I remembered being an ugly duck wishing to transform into something else, something invulnerable to the painful scrutiny of others…
And it dawned on me that yes, this is was the only magic I’d ever performed…
I made a girl disappear.

